NZ Steel launches inaugural COLORSTEEL® Award 2019

New Zealand Steel has designed the COLORSTEEL® awards to elevate pride & professionalism in the roofing and construction industry. The COLORSTEEL® Awards will recognise the industry’s best roofers, as well as highlight innovative design across the country. 

The judging criteria.

This year’s judging panel was carefully chosen based on outstanding experience in the roofing and construction industry. Using their wealth of knowledge, the judges chose winners based on a fair evaluation across all criteria.

These criteria vary from category to category. Overall, the judges were looking for:

  • Creative design and innovative use of COLORSTEEL® products
  • Complexity of project(s)
  • Environmental considerations
  • Excellent workmanship
  • Outstanding health and safety practices
  • Remarkable leadership.

Hosted by New Zealand Steel,the Awards consist of three categories: Building of the Year, Roofer of the Year, and Young Roofer of the Year.

Category criteria:

COLORSTEEL® Building of the Year
In this category, the judges look for creative design and innovative use of COLORSTEEL® products. They consider the function and form of the building design, as well as the impact the building has on the surrounding environment.

COLORSTEEL® Roofer of the Year
In this category, the judges look at the roofer’s workmanship, health & safety practices, customer service and communication, ability to solve problems, and leadership skills. As well as the complexity of the roofers past projects and how the individual has impacted on the industry.

COLORSTEEL® Young Roofer of the Year
Similarly, to the ‘COLORSTEEL® Roofer of the Year’ award, judges look for excellent workmanship, tenacious problem solving, the willingness to go the extra mile, great customer communication, leadership and an impeccable safety record.
The 2019 judges were:

New Zealand Steel Chief Executive, Gretta Stephens; Roofing Association New Zealand Chief Executive Officer, Graham Moor; Roofing Expert, Rod Newbold; The Block NZ Site Foreman, renowned media personality and builder, Peter Wolfkamp; and Director of Crosson Architects, Ken Crosson.

The winners in each category were named at the COLORSTEEL® Awards on 8th Novemeber 2019, celebrating roofing excellence across all categories

Wainui Construction
Building of the Year

Congratulations to Wainui Construction, our 2019 COLORSTEEL® Building of the Year winner. This innovative commercial development by Wainui Construction was a worthy winner.
Wainui Construction’s Two Sheds in Raglan takes home a $25,000 prize.

Matthew McDougall
Roofer of the Year

The 2019 COLORSTEEL® Roofer of the Year Award went to Matthew McDougall from The Roofing Company Canterbury. Matthew’s attention to detail, passion for the craft and ability to execute a difficult project meant he took home this prestigious award. Congratulations. Matthew was the winner of the COLORSTEEL® Roofer of the Year for his work on the Dagg residence and won a $25,000 travel voucher.

Vaughan Cook
Young Roofer of the Year

Vaughan Cook, the 2019 COLORSTEEL® Young Roofer of the Year winner. Vaughan has set the standard for future contestants. Congratulations on your great achievement. Vaughan, of Cowperthwaite Roofing Limited, based in Auckland takes home $10,000 cash.

New Zealand Steel’s Chief Executive, Gretta Stephens, is thrilled to have gathered industry experts and enthusiastic up-and-comers to celebrate success and excellence.
“Congratulations to our winners and all of our finalists. It was fantastic to bring everyone together and facilitate conversation between industries and individuals in different stages of their careers.”
“We hope these Awards can grow and offer roofers the opportunity to really celebrate their work. We want to see the roofing industry recognised for the innovative designs we see from across the country.”

For each category, entrants may nominate themselves or be nominated by their employer. Entrants are invited to enter as many categories as they are eligible for. 

For more information on the Awards and how to enter please visit: